top of page
  • Writer's pictureV. Sanz

Weekly Learning News 🎙️



Imagine the news, but 4th Grade style. A few years ago, I attempted to launch a student-led Podcast, and although we successfully recorded a few episodes, it was a lot of work on my part and very time-consuming. Last year, we manage to do a few recordings at the end of the year. This year, I wanted students to be in charge of it, with minimal teacher intervention. I also wanted students to reflect - or at least - realize all the learning they do weekly in class.


I presented the idea to students on WK11, we would make a Podcast every week to reflect and communicate on what happens in our classroom. I asked them to sign up in groups of three to collaborate, I provided a Script baseline and we started. Honestly, the kids weren't super excited at the beginning, but when they listened to our first episode, they were all in!


So far we've recorded more than a dozen episodes, and students have taken the reigns! We have a system, they sign up, work during the week in their script, and record on Fridays. On Mondays, our student editor mixes the sound, and voila!


This project is engaging because it gives students a real audience. It is especially beneficial for my bilingual students because they practice their writing and oral skills. After each episode, I give them feedback about adjustments, and I've seen great improvements. Even some shy students gave it a try!



Our students can do amazing things! We just need to give them a purpose, an audience, and a little guidance!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page